Doveridge Primary School



From the Early Years Foundation Stage throughout Key Stage 1, we begin teaching phonics skills using the Essential Letters and Sounds Phonics Scheme. The phonics reading books that are used are specifically linked to the sounds being taught.


What is Phonics?


Phonics is a proven method of teaching children the early skills of reading. In the English Language there are 44 sounds.  As we read, we put these sounds together to form words. We use the ‘Letters and Sounds’ approach to teach phonics.

Some sounds are represented by one letter, like ‘t’, and some by two or more, like ‘ck’ in duck and ‘air’ in chair. There are 6 phases in phonics and the children systematically work through each phase.

In June in Year 1 children take a phonics test. This is a national test and assesses the children on the sounds that they can read. 


At Doveridge Primary School we place great importance of the clear and structured teaching of phonics and work closely with parents to keep them informed of the strategies used: 

Phonics Parents information Leaflet

What is Phonics?

Phonics Workshop for Parents 2021 - 2022

Phonics Workshop for Parents using the Essential Letters and Sounds Scheme 2023 - 2024

Additional supporting resources and information for parents using the Essential Letters and Sounds:

Phase 2 Sounds Video



Phase 3 Sounds Video



Phase 5 Sounds Video



Additional Phonics information

Useful websites to help your child;


14 Chapel Green, Ashbourne, Derbyshire, DE6 5JY

01889 563346